Posted by: Corri van de Stege | May 22, 2008

And now…

And now I’m going to pack my suitcase with surprises for my granddaughter, check my flight and try and shake the cobwebs of merger options, curriculum reviews and other such things out of my brain: I am knackered and too tired to write a decent piece for the blog.  I’ve got a review ready for a short story collection, but no energy to edit and piece it together. 

Then there was Matt suggesting we all read some 100 pages a day from War and Peace…. I have not even found the copy on my bookshelf yet, let alone read a page.   Sorry Matt, it just is not the right time so I’m going to keep it for the summer holidays.  Must catch up on the reading challenges some time.

Now, I’m also under pressure to finish the last assignment for the OU – it is the first chapter, but there are always these niggling thoughts when you re-read and edit and then re-read again and, etc…  Anyway, it will have to go by the end of next week.  Meanwhile it has at least inspired me to write a couple of more chapters, late at night, notes in a notebook.

Catching up with granddaughter is the priority now, she’s probably grown beyond recognition, and we shall have muddled conversations in German and English.  Of course, I’ll have time to read sitting in airports and on planes.  That’s always the advantage of travelling.  I’ll try and catch up with all of you next week, but it will be quiet here for a few days… 


Responses

  1. The 100 pages are merely to gauge their progress since we have class 4 days a week, I have to make sure they are scrupulous in the reading. But if you average about 50-60 pages a day, you’ll be able to finish it on schedule. 🙂

  2. I know how you feel in anticipation of the impending visit. Enjoy it, Seachanges.

    Parents are responsible for the education of their children, they have that most important mission in life, but grandparents… grandparents have been put there to give the children the necessary balance, something really most important in their life.

  3. Have a wonderful trip, seachanges! and do enjoy your grandchild! your priorities seem right on the mark. bon voyage! TJ

  4. Have a marvellous trip!


Leave a comment

Categories