Posted by: Corri van de Stege | March 10, 2007

Another Saturday after a long and hard week and before another long and hard week….

I want to write more stories, keep up the momentum, but somehow or other I just cannot.  The working week is  too demanding and I really envy JG Ballard who is interviewed  for  today’s Guardian  Saturday Review ‘I work for three or four hours a day, in the late morning and early afternoon.  then I go out for a walk and come back in time for a large gin and tonic.’  Just the life!  I find that I work some 55-60 hours a week to make sure I have a pension at the end of it, and in  between I am now desperately trying to recount some of my life’s stories, because I would much rather spend all my time doing that… I think I’ve got something to say and let’s be honest, I am one of those sad cases that would much rather have written books all her life than earning a living.  Somehow or other it just didn’t work out and it still doesn’t. 

I like the way the Guardian allows us a peek into Writer’s rooms.  Have you noticed that all the desks are near windows, large windows, looking out on gardens (nice gardens)?  Just below this article on Ballard there’s one on Granta’s new list of Best of Young American Novelists.  There are just so many writers – do they all make a decent living?

Oh well, perhaps I have another go!

Responses

  1. Indeed, I hadn’t realised there were so many authors around, and really I cannot see how they can earn a decent living with so much competition.

  2. Today’s Sunday Times provides a list of Young English writers – all with good pedigree… No I cannot imagine everyone makes a living, hence the continued struggle for earning my pension in a different way!

  3. The lives of struggling artists… Wasn’t it always thus?

  4. It was and is, reluctantscribe, as with artists they are awarded after they go, unless the have a strong support from the media-


Leave a Reply

Categories

