Posted by: Corri van de Stege | April 6, 2007

Good Friday

The religious connotations have long gone but it definitely is a good friday: some sunshine, just about warm enough to sit in the garden and catch up on some reading – supposedly I am keeping track of my reading this month but so far haven’t done too well.   As I’m off until  next week some time (I don’t really want to think about the start of work again on such a glorious carefree day) I hope I manage to carry out an impressive amount of reading.  Still stuck in the middle of Jed Rubenfeld’s the Interpretation of Murder: a different look at Freud and the Oedipus complex and also an interesting account of the rivalry between Freud and Jung and other hangers on, and their at times turbulent relationship.  It’s a very long time ago I read my Jung and Freud, so reading this novel helps to remind myself of what it was all about in an easy and pleasant way – a bit of murder and a bit of whipping is probably also very apt this time of the year, only these are girls being whipped and one of them murdered.   I would have liked to have been able to use the word flaggelation, as that seems even more relevant to an easter weekend, however, so far there is no flaggelant or description of any other such ritual.   

Meanwhile the  family, those that are spending their Easter weekend here,  seem to have happily absconded  from the real world, reading and spreading themselves across laptops, garden and rooms doing what they want to do.  The fish and the birds have been fed by granddaugher who is now blissfully asleep, readying herself for more mayhem this afternoon.  Her mixture of German and English is becoming quite interesting for a two-year old, who straddles between the command ‘aufstehen!’ when anyone dares stay in bed longer than she does and ‘come here’ when she wants your attention.  In between she talks about ‘birds’ and ‘peepees’ (some German slang for birds I gather…) as well as ‘essen’ (when she wants to eat) and ‘eat’ when the fish are being fed.  You wonder what goes on in that brain.  She also has books in both languages, depending on who reads to her, and is quite happy as long as someone pays attention.  

Back to my books now – enough musings for one day.  In particular as I have two stories on the go as well, I’ve already realised that one weekend, however long, is never going to be long enough!

 

Responses

  1. I’ve made a note to get “The interpretation of death”, thank you, seachanges.

    As to your comment about your granddaughter, I remember a friend of mine who was married to a Swede. He was Catalan and they had two children, one daughter one son.

    In their home the parents spoke fluently Catalan, Swedish, Castillian, German, English, Italian and French. Both their children learnt those laguages the rough way, i.e. they mixed words in all those languages in their expressions, until they had grown enough to separate them.

    I remember listening to them and getting wondered how the human brain can use any means to communicate.

    Communication is paramount for peace and love.

  2. I agree Jose – communicatin and words are hugely important, alongside any other means of expression that gifted people have: music, painting, acting, whatever – we must teach and help our children (and grandchildren!) to express their emotions and feelings in whatever way they are most comfortable. I do admire your friend and his languages – I thought we were not doing too badly with a mixture of English, Dutch, German and Farsi! (and some of us can also get a way with French when need to) !

  3. Seachanges- I was happy to find your blog and enjoyed reading your posts about Germany. Please share more of your observations! I’m a former expat (American in Poland) and decided last year to write a novel about Poland. It has turned into a sympathetic story about what both Germany and Poland suffered in WWII. I look forward to reading more from your blog.


Leave a Reply

Categories

