Posted by: Corri van de Stege | September 14, 2007

Kingdom come

Driving out of the village this morning, to catch the train to London from the nearby station I noticed that the stage construction, built just outside the school where most of Kingdom has been filmed, was filled.  The wooden construction was put there some days ago and it had stood there, empty, built of brand-new wood, solid and clean. Nevertheless, it looked a bit strange, taking up the pavement, curiously placed, a sunk stage, waiting to be filled with something, what? 
 So it’s filled now, with a film setting that makes you want to write the next chapter of the instalment, whatever it is.  A small blue car, upside down, smashed, in a bed of warped and tangled trees and branches at one end and at the other end a stranded boat, dark brown, wooden, also nestling in trees and branches.  Not much in the middle and so I pondered today on the train, not for long though, too many other things to ponder, what might be happening here.  Is this the last instalment where heroes meet an untimely death, meeting up with long lost brother?  On the other side of the market place, this afternoon, were television cameras, focusing on the local pub that is a constant feature in the series, where grave Norfolk men have their pints and resolve deep going conflicts or where the perky assistant dreams up his next scheme to rescue someone or other. 
 Great stuff this.  Old ladies are wandering around the various exhibits, hauling their shopping bags, young women with prams and toddlers meet up, men have an extra pint in one of the pubs around the market place, gobbling at the scenes, and there seems to be a bustle that is full of expectations.  Nothing much happens in these market towns, not usually.  Stephen Fry is putting it on the map, giving it an aura that it had forgotten about, quaint but special, Norfolk. 
 Good end to a very balmy September week, they’d better shoot the scenes, rain is upon us and we will all be withdrawing inside, not wanting to look at any of this, except on telly.  I shall just wait for that anyway, cannot miss it now, not having become intrigued by the scenario….

Responses

  1. I wish I could be there and see by myself, but your description is splendid and saves me the cost of an air fare.

    I enjoy your writing and your perception of things.

    Thanks, seachanges.

  2. I’m reading the original version of The Shade of the Wind, which you so kindly recommended to me, and was thinking of doing a little checking of the English translation you have in your possession. Just a paragraph would do. I say this because the original version contains so many sentences of Catalonian humour that even Spanish of other places might not perceive the sense really behind.

    Would you mind doing this for me, seachanges. I am a fanatical observer of purity in language and amuse myself comparing translations.

    If there were any differences in senses in that paragraph I would give you MY translation of same.

    Sorry to be a bore. Thanks.

  3. Jose – thank you again for your lovely comments! It inspired me to carry on whenever the mood takes me…
    As far as your request is concerned, of course I’m happy to do that and it will be interesting to compare the translations! Will send an e-mail..

  4. I am pleased I can be of any help. You deserve it.

  5. Let me know which paragraphs/pages you are interested in and I’ll place them on the blog – you can check and let us know where you think the translator has got it all wrong. Good idea?

  6. I’d go for “City of Shades” – 1954 (I expect this is the translation given to the chapter (no.14)). You give three or four paragraphs, for better location perhaps the first ones.

    Thank you.

  7. Working on it Jose – will get the book back of a friend who’s got it at the moment. I do give books away to others to read if and when, not handy when you need it!

  8. Don’t worry, seachanges. Nothing is pressing us.


Leave a Reply

Categories

