Posted by: Corri van de Stege | October 7, 2007

Russian Writers and Reading Challenge

I’ve added another page to my blog  (above) to accommodate the Russian Writers Challenge signposed by Matt and set by Ex Libris.  This will be an excellent way to revisit my Russian lovers, neglected for a long time now.  The recent book meme rekindled my memories of all those books I have read in the past, Anna Karenina, War and Peace, The Brothers Karamazov, their great authors: Tolstoy, Dostoyevski, Turgenev and many many more.  One new book I will add to my list is Mikhail Bulgakov’s The Master and Margarita, one I have not read before and which comes recommended by a few as part of their lists, including Matt’s.  Fortunately, this challenge is for the whole of 2008, so yes, a whole year to slowly reappreciate these sturdy authors with their vast stories on life, relationships, god and their world.  I’m looking forward to it, and will take my time! 

 Meanwhile I’m progressing steadily with my own writing and have reached the magic total of 12,000 words.  12,000!! I’m so impressed with myself, but I feel greatly motivated by the odd bit of writing exercise set by the OU course, which I then deflect to suit my own themes and so far I have come up with a couple of surprising chapters, one of which I placed as a story (unfinished) a week or so ago.  Hope it works this way all year…   In addition, a good friend recommended some very interesting (Dutch) books as background material and sends me the odd newspaper article that help my research. 

The day job will slowly wind down until I take up my new post, so I’m determined to use interim lull which affords me some real thinking time, also during the working week – an unheard of luxury.

Responses

  1. 12,000 words is fantastic! I am attempting to begin novel 3, but keep crying when I start delving into family history. Not a good start!
    The Master and Margarita was number 6 on my list. Another ‘I wish that I could write like that’ book. I hope that you enjoy it. I read it when I was pregnant and my dreams went a bit too bizarre.
    x

  2. Caroline: delving into history is actually quite an eye-opener for me too. I thought I knew it all and I know so little! I am fascinated and it is as if some of my life only now comes together…
    Mmm, pregnancy and Bulganove obviously don’t go together – avoid pregnancy while reading his book, must remember 🙂
    xx

  3. I meant Bulgakov….

  4. I notice with satisfaction that you are attaining your goals, 12,000 words is a “geste”, isn’t it? I myself wouldn’t even dare to think of it.

    As to history I’d recommend British historians, from my experience they seem to be the most unbiased of them all.

  5. Jose: I am surprising myself, yes: I’m on 17,000 now… using my time wisely!

  6. I’m so excited you’re reading The Master and Margarita! I’m simply elated when book bloggers pick up this book! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

