Posted by: Corri van de Stege | December 9, 2007

Girls and Women

Admittedly I have been too busy trying to sort out my christmas cards this weekend and I have not had much time for anything else this afternoon.  I’m never sure whether I hate or love writing these cards – I quite enjoy getting a pile as it’s one way of catching up with people that you had almost forgotten about….  Enough said.

 So here’s something on  a book about girls and women:

A while ago, at least two months, I mentioned that I wanted to read a book by Kate Sutherland, in particular All in Together Girls.  I ordered it.  Well, it arrived yesterday.  I suspect that Amazone once more ‘mislaid’ my order as I had been informed it would only take between 2 and 3 working days to arrive. 

I am glad I have got it now though and having read the first story ‘Open all Night’ I think this is a lovely book with stories to savour here and there, a story on the train, another one before going to sleep or when I want to distract myself from too much desk research for education reports.

This is what girls are like, their experience of each other and their lives when they have not got much to do on an evening out.  The blurb tells us that “these are candid and truthful stories about women, young and old, grapping with generational wariness, creative, reckless, and illusive purpose…..’   well, I cannot put it any better I suppose.

The prose is very clear and evokes the picture completely, for example when a girl is faced by another girl, who is coming at her and threatening her on a night out, she reflects “I’d never been in a fight in my life, but my mom taught me how to punch last year when she was taking a self-defence class.  The minute the girl raised her fist I popped her one, and laid her flat out.” 

You can just see it, cannot you?  As well as understand the casual rationale of the girl narrator. I look forward to reading the other eight stories.

Responses

  1. Christmas cards have been so distant of concept to me as I’ve been traveling out of the country during this time of the year. But I do manage to send postcards with Christmas greetings wherever I go. 🙂

  2. Matt: well, mine have now been sent as well! Hope you’re enjoying your trip.
    x


Leave a Reply

Categories

