Posted by: Corri van de Stege | December 17, 2007

Ho ho ho

Currently I don’t need 48 hours in the day, I need 96. 

I’ve replaced two lightbulbs in the bathroom and unblocked one of the sinks.   All the duvets have got clean covers and beds have been put together, covered in sheets, the sofa bed ready for use.  We have fashioned a floor height bed out of an ordinary single bed, so that granddaughter can fall out of it if she wants to without breaking anything.   At the same time she can happily walk out of it in the middle of the night and wake parents up – grandparents will keep their door firmly closed!  Toys and baby car seat have been recovered from the attic; a buggy as well, but I’m not sure whether a three year old is too ‘grown up’ for a buggy – I’ll soon find out.  How come you forget these things so easily?  Our workrooms are being refashioned into guest rooms.   After much heaving and impatience we have managed to get the xmas tree upright and have decorated it to an acceptable standard (although every year again I swear I will never get another christmas tree in my life), cards have been written, addresses lost and found, presents have been bought and only need to be wrapped, I think.   I’m sure lots of other things were done as well, but the weekend has already become a blur. 

All I could do today while trundling on the train, with only one hour delay,  to the other side of the country was wonder how large families used to do this.  Conclusion: women with large families such as my mother (eight!) really had utterly boring and soul destroying jobs!  I don’t mind being domestic once a year  for a family christmas, but it sure must be hell when you do all this stuff week in week out?   I have already forgotten my children used to live at home once!  

Meanwhile, of course, I cannot wait to seem them and give them a big hug.  

Responses

  1. It’s the aeons-old battle against time, seachanges. But unfortuntely it’s inflexible and demands too much from us.

    Only compensation is the self-satisfaction of thinking of our dear ones while spending it.

    My best wishes to you and your family.

  2. Yes, you’re right Jose – I am enjoying it! And a very happy xmas to you to
    xx


Leave a Reply

Categories

