Posted by: Corri van de Stege | February 13, 2008

The world is your oyster

I wrote this two weeks ago, and never got to post it.  So here it goes:

 Two weeks ago in the Sunday Times Bryan Appleyard wrote about all the wonderful information available on the web: From Bach to Beckett, it’s now a gold mine for lovers of highbrow art, too.  Yes, it really is mind boggling and I suppose we now spend more time finding out thngs from the web than we do from any other medium.  I for one am constantly going from one site or blog to another, am linked up with my iPod for the music I like and find out about books, history, art, and music and everything else that suddenly triggers a want to know bell in my head, all behind my own desk (or from the sofa, or…) on my little laptop.  As Appleyard says, the trick is to narrow your focus, to decide exactly what you want to know and to refine your sense of what is serious and what is not…… It takes time….

There are of course different ways of approaching this tremendous source.  A friend once said so you mean to say that when I am digging up my garden, enjoying the plants and messing about on a Sunday afternoon, you sit behind your individual laptops and either write or read e-mails or blogs or whatever it is that you do?…..  

Mmmmm, but it’s not as black and white as that  I said.  It’s managing the balance and I for one greatly enjoy all this availability of everything that’s out there.  Read Appleyard’s article, the world really has become such a much more accessible place, even if you live in the sticks and spend most of your days slogging away a work.  In between, before and after you’ve got this vast amount of stuff and you never ever need get bored again.  And of course, when you’re fed up and want fresh air, you go out and dig the garden, or go for a walk along the beach, or….   The thing is, there is such a vast choice, and it’s available to everyone, not just a few!

And now it’s time for other things again….

Responses

  1. It’s hard to me to remember the days when things weren’t so accessible. I did the majority of my grad school research from home, can find out anything I need to know at the drop of a hat, and spend a great deal of time teaching my students to do the same. Ahh, wonderful! And, of course, when it comes to the teaching part, I definitely have to instill the knowledge that not everything on the ‘net is credible. They’ll get it…eventually. 😉

  2. If we understand what we read then we can decide what is credible and what is not, as you say Andi. And there are still many sources which we may contrast.

    The net is another world, a world that we did not know but that is there for the pick. We in the past did not know that all humans were equal, indeed equal, the net has come to prove it for us. It isn’t now so necessary to travel to find out.

    After my retirement, after having worked with my mind all my life, if it hadn’t been for the net I don’t know what I would have done.

    I can say I am not alone.

  3. Andi: yes, I agree, the danger is that everyone believes everything and that because there is so much available we cannot separate truth from hype and everything else. But it is a great medium nevertheless!
    x

    Jose: It is definitely a different world from the one where what we had was our immediate circle of friends and family, so easily lost on the way! I think it is great how it helps people get in touch. What would I do without my blog and everyone else’s ?! 🙂
    x
    x


Leave a Reply

Categories

