Posted by: Corri van de Stege | April 12, 2008

Backroom services – blog frustrations

About two weeks ago I suddenly found that my administrative site has a completely different look and feel to it. All the familiar and useful links have disappeared.  I just wonder whether others are having similar problems:

. I am unable to edit my widgets, I can add or delete widgets but it’s a complete mystery to me how I now add or delete entries on my blogroll, on my recommended reading roll, etc. 

. the number of my pages at the top of my blog seems to have been reduced and I have lost the page to the Orange Prize Project (presumably because that was the last one I added)

I am not very happy with this: blogs should be user friendly.  I have not got the time to spend whole afternoons or days on trying to work out how I keep my blog up to date, apart from writing my pieces! 

Has anyone had similar experiences?  Can you tell me what to do??

Responses

  1. No I haven’t – but I use blogger which is really straight forward. I have a blog on wordpress, but I find it too complicated to do anything but type. It has no blogroll etc on it.

  2. I have left an angry message on the wordpress site, I am not the only one who was apparently taken unawares. I’ll need to rethink this blog! How frustrating.

  3. It seems that further updates have been added and there is some more flexibility ‘visible’ now: I’ve actually got the path to my blogroll and others sorted – sigh of relief. I shall battle on with it now and perhaps all shall be revealed in due time. Have just wasted half a day on trying to figure it all out!

  4. I have not had exactly the same issues but others. Some with inserting pictures, some with not being able to find things I thought I’d saved. Typically if you click on the forums section (in support? or help?) and type in your problem you’ll go to a screen where others are talking about latest glitches. You can sometimes find a discussion of your particular problem.

    My other solution is to wait it out (I know, frustrating). I hate wasting time trying to figure out what’s wrong only to find they’ve worked out the glitch themselves by the next day. It is frustrating, but I would not trade wordpress for blogger.

  5. You are so right Deborah: some of the problems have been solved, but I have taken a long time to find the solution! At least I am going again – and even managed to add your site to the blogroll! First one since the change-over….


Leave a Reply

Categories

