Posted by: Corri van de Stege | June 28, 2008

Write on Wednesday – What’s my line?

Becca over at Write on Wednesday has invited me to put up my reason for writing, alongside other writers.   She’s created a great blog, where we, aspiring (and published) writers, can talk about our writing, exchange ideas with others, and so take us out of the loneliness of the writing experience.  Because lonely it can be, you must admit, especially when you battle against all odds to try and keep going.  By all odds I mean daytime jobs, family commitments, writers’ block, inexperience, sheer loneliness or other worries that keep one from writing or that make one feel useless and inadequate.  So even if it is Saturday now, here is my piece.

I created this blog because I wanted to tell the stories;  I wanted to give myself the space to write about the things that are in my mind, my experiences and my observations,  how people relate to each other in different cultures, from different background and in different countries .   I want to write about the craziness of life, and relate stories about my own life from small claustrophobic and religiously strangulating village in Holland, one of eight children, to living in London, Amsterdam, Iran, back to Holland and then to England again, haphazardly it seems, always pushed along by my choices, made within a larger context of instability and curiosity and love for people, of rejection and of picking oneself up again.  On the surface of it, everything is so normal,  I’m not that different from a lot of people, women, I am a mother of two, only once divorced, remarried, a career woman in later life, a grandmother, someone who was reasonably good at sport and enjoys a good swim, who reads and reads and reads and always has a book nearby, who has written soppy diaries and started once or twice on something that was going to be a novel but never persevered and who now finds herself with this urge to write seriously, to do it, to stop finding the excuses as to why I haven’t  got the time or the energy or the space.   I have actually got one or two things printed and published but these are non-fiction pieces: a chapter in a book on experiences of exchange students, and a couple of research papers.  My writing has always been considered of good quality, so much so that I received a commendation for an  MA dissertation on (English) education policy, ‘for excellent writing’.   But I have never persevered with the much more difficult craft of writing a good story, writing life stories in fictional format.   

So I’m writing now, I’ve started that novel again and am about 40,000 words into it, for the second time round.  I had written all that and more about a year ago, in a dreadful format, telling all the way, writing a report and feeling hopelessly inadequate.  Now I’ve done a couple of OU courses on creative writing and have started reading differently, I can see where I went wrong, what I need to do to improve it and make it interesting for a reader, but also for my granddaughter for whom I really started all this.  I want her to know where she comes from, who her grandmother was, I want to tell her the stories that my parents and grandparents never told me, because they were too busy with everyday life and with the fear of god in them.  And now I am writing a novel about loss and choice, but in particular it’s about women’s lives within different countries and how they sometimes are forced to make uneasy choices.  I have also written a couple of short stories that were considered of publishable quality by my  creative writing tutor, and have submitted one.  I’ll  keep at it!

And the blog?  It helps me with my routine of writing and with thinking about the books I read, because I firmly believe that you cannot write without reading, and reading widely, with an eye on style and voice and understanding why some writers catch your imagination and others just don’t.

And I could start this piece all over again, and it would come out differently, the only constant would be that I write about relationships, about women, about choices in different settings and countries and how these different environments create different barriers and can sometimes be so similar even if countries and cultures are miles apart, literally and figuratively.    And I find it hugely rewarding to hear about other people’s approaches and thinking and see how they tackle this huge challenge: good writing.

 

Responses

  1. Corrie, I love the way your blog title fits so perfectly with your writing focus – telling stories, your own and now fictional stories about women facing difficult choices and changes throughout their lives. I find myself focusing so much on family relationships in my writing as well, and also on the legacies we leave our children and the world. What do we pass on, what elements of ourselves will live though the generations in our children and their children, and on into the far future.

    You’re also perfectly correct when you say good writing depends on good reading. I learn so much from reading authors whose work I admire, and also from reading the personal writing, i.e. blogs, of people (like you) who are working to develop and expand their creative talents and abilities.

    Thank you for this beautiful, thoughtful addition to Write On Wednesday!

  2. Hi Corrie, I think we are our own best source of inspriation for stories of women then followed closely by our observations of our friends and the world around us. You definitely have found your voice.

  3. and i too feel that having it all written down and sharing it makes all the difference.. a legacy of sorts,, even for those of us that are not leaving it specifically for children or grandchildren,, just sort of a voice that will in some way out last us all…

    this was a wonderful post…

  4. Well good on you! I very much enjoyed reading your reasons for writing and hope that that novel gets finished now for your grandchildren and their grandchildren after them. Bon courage!

  5. Becca: thank you for inviting me to your site. It’s been helpful thinking about ‘my line’ and also to read other people’s approaches. I have been feeling very inspired this last week and just hope that I’m able to keep a bit of momentum going once back to ‘real life’ (working). Thank you for your lovely comment. x
    Annie Elf: nice to meet you (and others) and thank you for being so encouraging. x
    Paisley: yes, there has to be a purpose, it’s what makes the writing experience such a human one: linking the generations. Great meeting you also! x
    litlove: thank you!! x

  6. I feel very connected to your post and wish you much personal success in your writing journey.


Leave a Reply

Categories

