Posted by: Corri van de Stege | July 1, 2008

The end of a beautiful break

So, today it’s time to return to the real world.  It’s been great having had so much time to blog, write, keep in touch and visit your blog sites as well as read one book after  the other.  Suitcases are packed, stacked in the car and so we will drive to Souda Bay, have lunch there and then make our way to the airport.  How quickly times goes when you enjoy yourself and are without any pressure.  It’s been a wonderful luxury and I only wish it could last longer.  But no, work e-mails will be waiting, projects need developing and my brain will become clogged up again with all those ‘must do’s’ that I have blissfully forgotten about for a fortnight.

I’m still in the throws of Crime and Punishment and am enjoying it now much more as a psychological thriller almost, than I did on first reading.  The agony of Raskolnikov when he is trying to work out what the chief investigator is thinking are wonderful psychology.  Well, there will be waiting at the airport, the flight, and the hanging around, so there is plenty of time today to try and get to that last page!

Meanwhile, here is one last view of Crete, by night this time:

Responses

  1. It sounds like a wonderful holiday. There is something really lovely about traveling to places with which one is so familiar there is no pressure to “sightsee” but just time to revel in the serenity. A good retreat is very valuable for the mind and spirit, I think.

    Thanks for sharing your time away with us 🙂

  2. Winston Churchill was of the opinion – on which I fully agree – that holidays should always have a strong component of what one normally does in their working life. That is if you work with your brain, your brain should always be present in what you do when you are off, the same thing with physical work. Only that the brain work or the physical work should be of a different type.

    That way the time of rest would yield the best effects.

  3. Becca: and now I’m back I realise how much I have enjoyed those two weeks of doing so many things I don’t usually have the time for.
    Jose: Churchill was absolutely right: yes you do have to keep your mind turning over, otherwise these breaks can become tedious. I have thoroughly enjoyed using some parts of my brain that I cannot give enough time to in day to day life, or perhaps I simply used my brain differently?


Leave a Reply

Categories

