Posted by: Corri van de Stege | July 29, 2008

Six quirky things about me

I was tagged by Bold, Blue Adventure (Kim) to disclose six quirky things about me.  The rules are to

  • Link to the person who tagged me  (Kim)
  • Mention the rules
  • Tell six quirky yet boring, unspectacular details about myself
  • Tag 6 other bloggers by linking to them
  • Go to each person’s blog and leave a comment that lets them know they’ve been tagged

Sounds like hard work!  Well, here are some quirky things (utterly boring) which are of no interest to anyone, but here you go:

  • I am a bad sleeper: I wake yup at the least bit of sound and often cannot go back to sleep because my brain churns around, attaches itself to one item, a song (a boring one, usually) something someone said, something I said, a sense of loss, anything really.  At other times I sleep really soundly and peacefully for eight hours at a stretch and wake up wondering why I cannot do that all the time!  It probably has something to do with the weather (hot and clammy nights are not conducive to sleep) as much as with the environment (an unease about the previous day, an airconditioner in a hotel where I cannot open the windows, or traffic because I have opened the window somewhere in the middle of a city where noise is relentless, or…  etc.).
  • I become quiet (morose, some people would say…) when I am preoccupied.
  • I speak two languages fluently and two more quite well.  I worry that when I age and become forgetful I will not be intelligible to people around me, becauase I speak the wrong language and don’t even know this myself
  • I spoil my granddaughter knowingly and am just so pleased that this first grandchild is a girl – what can I say?  I buy her lots of girlie dressess….
  • I love cheese, all kinds, from the smelly green stuff to the light yellow mild edam type kind.  I cannot get enough of it.
  • mmmmm, this is my sixth one, but I’m on a roll now: I think I’m a workaholic / write-aholic – does that make sense?  I need to write, it’s the only way I can get around the thoughts that float through my brains – whether it’s work or a book that I (still) want to write.  So I become quite obnoxious to people living around me and I become claustrophobic when I sense I haven’t got enough space (or time!) to express myself in words.

Well, that should just do it for today!

And now, six bloggers I’m going to nominate to tell six quirky things about themselves.  You are:

Nyssaleana

Eudaemonia

Ex Libris

Tourjours Jacques (but I’m not sure if he’s back yet from his wonderful never ending summer trips)

Caroline Smailes (again, she may be too busy?   All sorts of wonderful things being published!)

A devoted reader (some wonderful posts there!)

Well, and tomorrow it’s Wednesday and I still have to do some writing tonight!


Responses

  1. Very interesting! I’m impressed with your mastery of languages. I learned rudimentary French in school and immediately forgot it all once I left. I spoke and understood a fair amount of German while I lived in Germany and I’m afraid it’s nearly all gone too, and as an American, my command of the English language is — er, debatable. I wonder how many of us are plagued with sleep issues and obsessive thinking…my guess is quite a few.

  2. I’m with you on the sleeping – only last night I was wandering around at 2 in the morning. And very impressive on the language front. I do speak and read French fluently and once upon a time my joint degree included German (which I have all but forgotten). They do go if you don’t practise them, I find.

  3. lisakenny: yes, I think I challenged the gods because I woke up at 4 and could not go back to sleep last night…..
    Litlove: we must all be suffering from the same , what, overload of words? creativity going mad?

    And the languages: yes, it’s down to practice all the time but then my two sons live in two different (non-English speaking) countries and I have a granddaughter whose mother is German, and… etc.

  4. Love your quirky things! Spoiling little girls with dresses is a MUST!
    I will try to do this blog, at the moment I have an inbox full of bizarre photographs to blog … and a life that has me spinning.
    I will, eventually, blog my quirks.
    x

  5. Ahhh, cheese. I think I’ll have some worked into my lunch somehow. And I’m right there with you on workaholism.

  6. The workaholic has an unhealthy addiction, a workaholic is a person who is addicted to work and his/her career. There is no commonly accepted medical definition of such a condition, although some forms of stress and obsessive-compulsive disorder can be work-related. http://www.workaholic-symptoms.info/


Leave a comment

Categories