Posted by: Corri van de Stege | August 18, 2008

Monday -definitely blue

Writing is elusive – after having visited another bookshop with visitors today, including granddaughter,  on one of my days taken off so that I have time for and with them, my son turns round holding one of the hoard of books bought  and checks my books, once home, and says ‘I found this one on your desk, you’ve already got it’.  So I’ve bought one of the books twice.   What does that mean: that I am becoming forgetful or simply that I desperately want to do some reading?  And that I want to read that book?  I blame too much work.  Not forgetfulness.  You want to know which book that was?  Well, one in the myth series: The Helmet of Horror by Victor Pelevin.  (I bought the paperback version today, I’ve apparently already got the lovely hardback version).  Pelevin is a Russian author, so he could count towards the Russian reading challenge.  I really bought it (twice) because I am interested in the myths, and this is another one in the series.  I quickly handed the paperback version to son and said ‘that’s a  present’.  Once I’ve finished Coetzee, I’ll take it on, the hardback version, promise…  Although I’ve also got a lovely collection of Coetzee’s essays.  Mmmmm  I’ll think about it.  Tomorrow, I’m back at work and must write reports (again).

Responses

  1. I’ve done that a time or two–buy duplicates–and it’s something I swore I’d never do. Lesson: never swear.

  2. Great post, it was very informative. I think its a must read.
    http://www.theessaywriters.com/

  3. Definitely a message in there about reading that book! Are you enjoying Coetzee? Good luck with finding the time for the writing. How did the radio play turn out?


Leave a Reply

Categories

