Posted by: Corri van de Stege | September 11, 2008

Memes and all that

Oh my – I’ve got two memes waiting in the queue for posting.  One is long overdue and so I’ll start with that one.  Matt tagged me and I have difficulty finding it back: he is a vociferous writer and the post is hidden somewhere, well in the past now, oh here it is.  Go and have a look.  My responses are below:

  1. What is your favourite word?  Well, for the moment it is discombobulate: I came across it again, quite recently, and I just love the way it bobbles and weaves and gives  that real sense of unease, a word like a picture
  2. What is your least favourite word: sin , but that goes a long way back.
  3. What turns you on emotionally, creatively, spiritually:   a walk along an empty beach, in the wind and with a bit of sunshine, my granddaughter, well written books and stories, a glass of white wine, classical music, a good opera song that I can sing along with loud in the car (e.g. the Fishermen’s Duet).
  4. What turns you off (emotionally, creatively, spiritually): noisy and smokey environments, bad food and bad wine (I’d rather not eat), protestant churches (again, goes way back),  lack of sleep, other people’s high and often unrealistic expectations, dishonesty…. etc
  5. What sound or noise to you love: Beethoven’s 9th; Placido Domingo; the sea the sea; my granddaughter talking to me; my granddaughter immitating famous singers (she’s three); jazz
  6. What sound or noise do you hate: the alarmclock in the morning, repetitive beats and noises when I’m trying to sleep in a hotel room.
  7. What is your favourite curse word: me, cursing?  You don’t want to know
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt: being a full time writer
  9. What profession would you not like to do: being a cleaner
  10. If Heaven exists what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates: it does not exist and I cannot imagine

And now I am required to tag three others, but I’m sure this one has done the rounds many a time by you.  So if you have not done this yet, consider yourself tagged!

Tomorrow I’ll try and put up the next one, or maybe even later tonight….

Responses

  1. I enjoy these memes — it helps me get to know bloggers I visit!

  2. I like your favorite word–discombobulate, which I have to look up in the dictionary. Like the sound of it! Sin is a very negative word to me. It’s the kind of word that makes your heart sink upon hearing it said.

    #6 I have to agree. Hotel room awfully “noisy” when you try to sleep at night. The room with poor insulation is even worse–the unwanted soundtrack from neighbors!


Leave a Reply

Categories

