Posted by: Corri van de Stege | May 1, 2010

Hay on Wye – the book festival

I am excited, so excited!  We will go to Hay on Wye.  Don’t know what this is?  Well, it’s THE bookfestival here in the UK, held in this tiny place in Wales, only just across the border from England.   We’ve booked a hotel (so we can go to events on Saturday and Sunday), I’ve sent in my requests for tickets and now it’s just a matter of keeping fingers crossed that we can get into the sessions – it’s first come first serve, as far as tickets are concerned.  And I’m nervous 😦  What if all tickets are already sold out? 

We’ll go the next Bank Holiday weekend here in Britain, that’s the end of May (27-30 May to be precise) .  Hotel is booked, done. I have wanted to go since I was, oh well, I cannot remember.  Somehow there was always a reason why I didnot: no money, kids, work, too busy, other concerns, you know…  The usual.  Well, if you cannot do these simple things in life, if only just once, then what is there to look forward to? 

I think I now have to read a pile of books by authors who will have sessions that I am trying to get into.  One of them fits in nicely with my current obsession with sleuths (yes, I’m trying to get into a session with Henning Mankell), another is with Kazuo Ishiguro, whose latest collection of short stories  (Nocturnes) has been lying on my shelf for months now. 

Just keep fingers crossed that I will get the tickets and that I’m not too late already.  Mind, I only got the brochure today.   And of course, once I’ve been I will have lots to blog about.   But that’s the end of May.   Yes, I’m really excited –   what a change from worrying about work…

Responses

  1. I’m green with envy, and have my fingers crossed for you getting tickets!

  2. I love book festivals! I hope you get the tickets you need so you can attend and have a wonderful time.

  3. And what a lovely place Hay is anyway. Good luck with the tickets

  4. Sarah – I know, I feel very very lucky (as Nick Clegg woud say 🙂 )
    Kathleen – thank you – I’ll be blogging once I know!
    Tom – I’ve only passed by it on my many travels to Wales and never so far stopped to visit. So great opportunity.

  5. I hope you get tickets…I cannot wait to experience it vicariously through your blog! 😉

  6. I went to Cheltenham last year – I happened to be working there and managed to sneak in a couple of events. It was very enjoyable but the cheapness of the tickets ended up being offset by the compulsion to buy books of the people I’d seen!

    A friend of mine, Sophia Bennett, will be talking there. She’s written a book called ‘Threads’ for young teenage girls (http://www.threadsthebook.com/). I’m sure it is unlikely but if you meet her, say hello from me!

  7. Priscilla – still don’t know if I have (got the right tickets, I mean) – this is as bad as waiting for the election outcomes!
    Alison – I will look out for Sophia Bennett, promise. But! I’m only there for three days. And yes, I also fear that it will turn out to be an expensive enterprise in terms of books bought, but then, that’s half the fun, isn’t it?

  8. Sounds like heaven to me!


Leave a Reply

Categories

