Posted by: Corri van de Stege | July 13, 2011

Falling off the edge – and meeting God in the middle of Nicosia

No, I cannot get back into the blogging routine, I just cannot.  I have come back from holiday, sent the books to the winners of the literary give-away ‘raffle’, unpacked my suitcase, hastily finished a project report and geared myself up for some presentations and sulked myself to sleep reading a couple of books.  But no, no energy to think about reviews, about you, about anything but simply getting through the day.  And I had such a great holiday and felt so on top of the world physically.  Mentally though I am sinking into a lethargy unheard of.  Time to pull myself together:

I’ve read a couple of books on my e-reader, watched a couple of good series on tv, read the newspapers over the weekend, finished my work report (96 pages) and created and delivered presentations on the outcome.  It’s none of that of course, rather it’s about all the ramifications of starting a new job in August and finishing my current one.  Yes, on the move again and weighing up all the pros and cons.  I’ll come out of it, I’m sure.  Not quite there yet though.  What happened to the after effects of this wonderful holiday we had?  I’m hanging on, reminding myself of that beach, the wonderful time with granddaughter and the moment when she grabbed my hand and asked ‘Grandma, is that God?’:

Mmmmm  I had to think for a bit, wondering what was going on in that six-year-old head.  She accepted my response that actually this was Makarios, even though she had no idea who that was either.

Responses

  1. But maybe that was God, just behind the statue :))
    The book is stil lnot here, but I am keeping an eye on the post…
    Sometimes, taking a break from the “mental” things as well as the physical ones is exactly what one needs 🙂

  2. Well we missed him! 🙂
    So sorry you have not received the book yet – I’ll investigate… They were both sent at the same time.

  3. After having a lovely holiday I often have trouble getting back into the routine of things too. Enjoy your memories from your time away and don’t worry too much about what comes next!

  4. Ah, it’s the job change thing. It’s such a depth-ful change on so many levels. Congrats (right?) on the change and hope you love the position. But really, wouldn’t it be so much cooler to spend time on Cyprus with your granddaughter? sigh. I hear ya’.

  5. Ally, I have found my proof of posting – can you perhaps investigate at your end and if no luck then I will visit the postoffice here….
    Kathleen: thanks, and yes I’ve looked over my photo’s five times yesterday!
    Oh: Yes, sigh….
    Thank you all for commisserating! I’m pulling myself together though, life could be sooo much worse! Must get back to my half full glass!

  6. Corri, could you give me the info on that proof, or maybe scan it and tomorrow I will go and ask what has happened… Thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

