Posted by: Corri van de Stege | August 5, 2011

Head in the clouds for something quite different

Altocumulus cloud, Tel-Aviv, Israel.
Image via Wikipedia

Instead of writing reviews I’m simply downloading more books on my e-reader – I can barely keep up reading them, let alone review them.    There are some books that you’ve got to have in tangible hard form though and one of these is a little treasure I came across: The Cloudspotter’s Guide by Gavin Pretor-Pinney.  If you’re going on holiday in England (or anywhere in northern Europe for that matter) just stick this in your suitcase.  I thought I knew all about clouds simply because of the word ‘cumulus’, but forget it: there are cumulonimbus clouds (thunderstorm clouds for you and me), altocumulus (or cloudlets, the little ones) and there’s the nimbostratus (these will provide you with that depressing non-stop rain), amongst others.

I’m going to keep this little manual handy – it’s great fun to browse through when your mind is just too filled with work and you haven’t quite made the change-over to being able to lose yourself in a novel, mystery or thriller.  You can stare out of your (workroom) window and ponder cloud mysteries and intricacies just to relax.

Responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful book to take on my travels with me. I find I see many more interesting clouds around the U.S than I do where I live in California. I hate to say it but I see more blue skies than anything else and yes, that does get boring!

  2. Kathleen – notice that you are on a trip and I hope you have an opportunity to watch the clouds, as well as enjoy the blue skies! So sorry I missed your birthday blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

