Posted by: Corri van de Stege | May 28, 2014

Writing a garden diary

A friend of ours is producing a most wonderful book called ‘A year in the garden’, with lots of photos and artwork (he’s a very gifted painter). I’ve just read the proof of his book and I loved his dedication to his garden. I was also very impressed by his knowledge of plants, pruning, deadheading, cutting, etc.

After two days of intensive writing, editing and reading I decided today that I needed to do something different. Following my friend’s example, and even though the weather did not look very promising, I donned my garden shoes, an old pair of jeans and shirt and got my garden tools from the shed. I realise that until now I’ve been a very haphazard gardener (I did not really have the time, let’s be honest, as I had a 50 hours a week job) and although I don’t think I’ll change much in my approach I have decided that the minimum requirement for taking myself serious as a gardener is that I should know at least the names of some of the plants that I put in here, there and everywhere around the house. In emulation of my friend’s example I’ve therefore started a kind of garden diary, a ringed notebook in which from now on I will jot down the names of the plants that I buy and where I put them. At least that way I may become a bit more garden literary.

I went out and bought some plants

P1010501

This is the Nemeisia Fromboise, a new variety that has raspberry red flowers and that will accompany the Nemeisia I bought last year for one of the flower beds at the side of the house

P1010506

It actually looks quite small compared to her sister next door which is of a soft pink variety, but I’m confident it’ll grow just as much by next year. Pretty or what?

P1010510

Alongside my patio I have planted a couple of ‘Aquilegia’ which produces masses of double upward-facing flowers in the summer and is a perennial ‘perfect for cottage garden style mixed borders’, according to the ticket.

Around this plant you can see all those little shoots and to be honest I have no idea which is weed and which are the seeds that are germinating, seeds from a ‘cottage garden variety’ that I threw around this patch a couple of weeks back now. I’ll wait and see before I start tidying it.  Come what may, I will really enjoy watching it all this summer and perhaps I’ll even be able to point out to my friends the different plants and casually naming them!

I think the forecast is for rain tomorrow, so back to the writing desk. I’m enjoying writing up this diary though which already covers some ten pages in my garden notebook.

Leave a Reply

Categories

