Posted by: Corri van de Stege | October 23, 2014

Notes on Anna

Why is Katie so secretive and hiding the notes she is writing for her book on a girl called Anna, so that her husband Mike does not find and read them until it is too late? Katie and Mike  meet in London and move to a town in Iran, where revolution is gathering pace. While living in Iran Katie is determined to write about what she knows of life in a claustrophobic and religious community somewhere in the Netherlands but finds that, as she unravels some of the secrets of that village life, stability around them in this different and far away country collapses so that once more she needs to move away from a place she wanted to make home.

Print Cover Final Image2

At long last, my new book Notes on Anna has been published. It’s been a very long time in the making and it has been rewritten over many years, several times over. Why? Because I wanted it to be right, I wanted to make sure that what I wrote about would not be traced automatically to my own history even though I know from close quarters what life in The Netherlands, in a Calvinist community, was like for a girl who did not want to conform.

My memoir about Iran, Half the World, makes it clear that what happened to me is not what happens to Katie nor to Anna. Notes on Anna is fiction, but fiction that comes close to the truth of the lives of women and girls within a repressive Calvinist environment in the middle of the last century, which in many respects resembled that of today’s struggle of women and girls trying to escape  overbearing religious beliefs and parents and from forced marriages.

The book is also about displacement and migration, it is about how we sometimes end up in places that are far removed, either geographically or in terms of culture, from our birth countries and familiar environments. I very much hope that you will read it and let me know what you think. You can write a review on any of the sites that you buy it from. The paperback version will become available from the various sites within the next week. is available from the amazon sites The e-book is available now.     Both paperback and ePub version are available from the Amazon sites.

Responses

  1. This one sounds good, just stumbled across you’re blog. Followed you 🙂

    • Thank you Sleepy BookNerd – let me know what you think! I’ll follow you too.

  2. I’ll be reading the paperback version, Corri. We’re not used to e-books as yet in Belgium… 🙂 Please remind me when the paperback is out…I’m so busy at the moment, they should forbid an old man like me to work so hard …. 🙂
    Success!

    • Bob, as you’ve probably noticed also from my corrections above, the paperbackversion is available from the Amazon sites…. Looking forward to your comments, but don’t work too hard! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

