Posted by: Corri van de Stege | February 15, 2015

Writing, am-writing, #writing

IMG_1906

How difficult is it to start and finish a novel? Really? Well, you don’t start one unless you’ve got an idea as to what the story is about. Do you? And once you’ve started, in your mind this novel, that you’re currently writing, is the one that’s going to bring you the great success that you dream of because no one else has written anything like it.

How to writeYou guessed it, it’s not as straightforward as that. None of it is. There are millions of writerly pieces of advice available all over the internet, in papers,  and books, and you can attend an endless number of writers’  workshops and courses, but the reality is that you need to sit down and write. And sometimes on some days it works and at other times and other days it just doesn’t.

I’ve passed the magic ‘25,000 words for my next novel‘ mark. I think it shows that I’m serious and that this is not going to be another short story. I’ve even got a title for this novel, I’ve done lots of research, well, kind of. I know my main character(s): they talk to me, sometimes in the middle of the night. But I still don’t always know what they’re up to or have been up to. Sometimes they just change my mind about who I think they are.

You see, writing a novel is not all that straightforward. Not at all.  I’m writing though, some days, not every day, sometimes in the middle of the night when I wake up and one of my characters just wants to get their point of view across, or they tell me what they were doing, or they show me where they live and how and why they’re happy or unhappy.

Tomorrow I’ll post another interview in the series of the 2K International Writers’ Blog tour and on Tuesday it’s my turn.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

