Posted by: Corri van de Stege | March 14, 2010

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – film

I loved reading Stieg Larsson’s trilogy about Lisbeth Salander the emotionally damaged but brilliant computer hacker, starting with the Girl with the Dragoon Tatoo, which has now come out on film.  I went to see it yesterday – the book has been really well adapted, although slightly simplified to make it more straightforward, and Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist are played to perfection by Noomi Rapace and Michale Nyqvist. 

The Economist this week reviews Scandinavian crime fiction (thanks to Ario for pointing this out to me, knowing I am such a fan of the genre). According to this review ‘three factors underpin the success of Nordic crime fiction: language, heroes and setting’, and of course also the straightforwardness, which is almost simple.  nevertheless, there is also in the Larsson books a character development that is often absent from the more simple and straightforward crime thrillers.  I have reviewed the Stieg Larsson books already, so will not follow up on this again.  

Recently I have recorded the odd Wallander on tv and have watched an episode every so often, when at the end of a long day I had little energy left and all I wanted to do was occupy my brain with something, not exactly brain numbing but interesting without requiring too much energy, and that is what the Wallander series delivers.   So I will now add the Mankell books to my list –  yes, I am a convert to Scandinavian crime fiction, definitely.

Responses

  1. Yes I agree – a fantastic film, just as good as the book

  2. I can’t believe it but I still haven’t read anything by Larsson but at least I do have one of his book’s on my shelf at home. I look forward to seeing the movie once I’ve had a chance to read the book!

  3. I am waiting for the movie to come around – I don’t think it is out here. I thought all three books were fantastic, though I enjoyed the first and third more. His cracked and stained characters are wonderful, aren’t they. They stand out so nicely against the clean, Nordic snow.
    I believe I commented when you reviewed this author, so I won’t go on and on. Like you, I have become a great fan of Scandinavian crime fiction.

    Is it spring yet? Daffs are coming up here, but we are in another cold snap….. maybe next week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

