Posted by: Corri van de Stege | September 27, 2011

Too busy to read, just downloading books

Yes, a sad state of affairs: I have been downloading books on my new Kindle, but have not got the time to read them, let alone review them.  Ah you did not know I had a new e-reader?  Well I do.  It’s a Kindle this time.  And you know what?  It’s just too tempting for words: I turn on my wireless and hey ho, I can download whatever I want from the Kindle shop.  So tempting after a day’s hard work: why not reward yourself? Books as retail therapy.  Kindle wireless makes it easy.

On top of the 100 or so books I have on my Sony reader (which has deteriorated desperately after its mudbath in Singapore, however, I have read most of those) I have now got on my Kindle:

Spy (4)

Thrillers (1)

Booker Prize (2011) (3)

Literary Fiction ( (2)

Poetry (1)

Non Fiction ( 2)

Now I only need to find the time to read them.

Responses

  1. The Kindle is definitely dangerous for us biblioaddicts! I have a Nook now and it is just as convenient to order more and more books. Enjoy them all and I look forward to hearing about them when you have time to write about them.

  2. I keep on reading about people being overly satisfied with e-readers and I am already thinking I might buy one, but the thing is that I might just keep on buying even more books than I do now (due to the fact that I won’t need to think about storing them) and still not read more because I don’t have the time for that… BUT, you don’t need to worry about reading them. There is a time for everything, after all 🙂

  3. Kathleen – half way through number 2 🙂 A long train journey ahead tomorrow so who knows?! I wonder what you have on your Nook?
    Ally – yes, that’s exactly the case: you don’t worry about where to leave them and no one in the house is even aware that you are simply stacking up more and more. Bliss. My bookshelves are all stacked two rows on each shelf, that’s not a pretty sight either.

  4. Whew – a great idea. Downloading books! I have spent a good part of the past 2 weeks after work, cleaning my home office and getting stuff in order – which has actually made me realize I’d be better off reading from the TBR stack BUT, where’s the fun in that? Off to do some downloading! (I have been biz traveling and learned the true value of my Nook.. Hooked on my e-reader, at last!)


Leave a Reply

Categories

