Posted by: Corri van de Stege | September 11, 2007

Seriously….

Today

I received my parcel with the OU creative writing course…. help…  I have to become serious.

I had my eyes reassessed: left eye is absolutely fine ‘just tired’ because it needs to compensate for right eye.

Right eye: still to early to assess after the laser treatment, come back in 6 weeks’ time.

Pondered numerous submissions (work), stared at computer screen for far too long, but still on track.

Answered all my e-mails (I think)

Went for a calming bicycle ride along a very quiet and deserted country lane, bliss.

Then read half the first chapter of the OU course and now know that every day for a week I have to commit to a creative writing burst preferably coming out of ‘clustering’.

So I have recorded all this in my notebook for on the train tomorrow, when I go to London.

Life is busy.

AND late last night I  finished Oranges are not the only Fruit by Jeanette Winterson.

It’s a seriously good book.

Responses

  1. Take care of your eyes, seachanges, they are very important to write and see the wonders life has to offer us.

    Best wishes+++

  2. Oranges is one of my all time favourite books. Now … an OU Creative Writing course. I’ve heard mixed responses to it (the 60pt one) so I’ll look forward to hearing all about it. Tomorrow the OU have me tutoring someone who doesn’t speak English and I don’t speak her language and we’re talking advanced grammar … should be fun!
    Be gentle on your eyes.
    x

  3. I know I know Jose – if only I had had the slightest inkling that my eyes might trip me up… however, my left one is very very strong and I intend to keep it that way! thanks so much for your concern, it really helps! x

    Caroline: OU writing courses, mmm, had a look at the book, well we’ll wait and see, it provides for discipline and with a bit of luck some good blogs! I’ll give you the low down! All in good time. x

  4. My left eye is worse than my right. I would “use” my left eye more laboriously when I watch TV or look at things. It’s a matter of habit (a very bad one) I acquired since I was a little kid.

  5. I’m curious what the OU creative writing course is.

  6. Matt: unfortunately mine is not a bad habit… but I am grateful for your consolation!

    Individual voice: this Open University course I’m referring to is one that provides credits (60 points) but it’s just a good opportunity to carry on with something that you are interested in, at a serious level, and home based… It really is for masochists I suppose…as if we haven’t enough to do.

  7. Actually, it sounds like the two year “Low Residency” writing program I dropped out of after a year and a great deal of money. I would have been more interested in a program I could do at my own pace. But around here, the only program you can do at your own pace is the program you create for yourself.

  8. Know what you mean Individual Voice: your own pace is always best, however, I’m a sucker for discipine: it forces me to keep going along even when I find all sorts of excuses not to work on something. There’s a charactertrait you can write a book on! Maybe it has someting to do with my calvinistic upbringing – big hangover 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

